Under pre-Act law, the Affordable Care Act (also called the ACA or Obamacare) required that individuals who were not covered by a health plan that provided at least minimum essential coverage were required to pay a “shared responsibility payment” (also referred to as a penalty) with their federal tax return. Unless an exception applied, the tax was imposed for any month that an individual did not have minimum essential coverage.

New law. For months beginning after Dec. 31, 2018, the amount of the individual shared responsibility payment is reduced to zero. This repeal is permanent.

January 26, 2018 12:00 pm